ThinkGeo.com    |     Documentation    |     Premium Support

ThinkGeo WmsLayerPlugin migration to version 12

Hi,

I am currently migrating ThinkGeo from version 9 to version 12 and came across that “WmsLayerPlugin” abstract class is no longer supported.
Can I know is there a substitute class which I can use in version 12?
Note: Im very new to ThinkGeo, so any help is appreciated

Hey @KarishmaF,

WmsLayerPlugin abstract class was replaced with WmsRasterLayer and its accompanying WmsRasterSource class. There is also a WmsOverlay class that you can use that might be more desirable if you are just looking to change how tiles are retrieved. Either of these classes can be subclassed have methods that can be overridden to accommodate your needs.

We have a few samples that shows you how these classes are used in our HowDoI samples and is the best place for you to learn, especially if you are new to ThinkGeo. You can see how a to use and setup a WmsRasterLayer and WmsOverlay in our WMSLayerSample. The links provided goes to our WPF samples, but the functionality is almost always the same across all other platform targets.

Thanks,
Kyle

Hi Kyle,

Thanks for getting back to me.
I have few questions which I need to clarify,

1. Currently the project Im working on is on v9. Can I upgrade directly from v9 - v12 or do I have to first upgrade to v10 and then to 12?
  2. The main purpose of the class is to create tile cache using the main image in the main class we refer to the abstract class WmsLayerPlugin. Within the MultiGeoRasterWmsLayerPlugin class we refer to few classes such as (supported in v9)
    • GdiPlusRasterLayer
    • FileBitmapTileCache
    • MapConfiguration
    • GetMapRequest
    • BitmapTileCache
    • TileMatrixCell
    • GdiPlusGeoCanvas
      Is there is any documentation which I can refer to when upgrading from v9 to latest versions which functions became redundant and what functions can be used instead please ?