ThinkGeo.com    |     Documentation    |     Premium Support

WMS & ASP.NET Assistance

MapSuite Team,

I am new to WMS and ASP.NET and would appreciate if you would clear up some confusions I have.

Your sample WMS Server is a combined server & client, which is good for demonstration purposes. But in the real-world I have to support 500+ clients with one, and potentially multiple, WMS Server(s).

Is it correct that each client will get their own instance of the Admin Class? If so, does that mean each client will have to load their own Plugin’s and hence have their own instance of WmsLayerPlugin?

If this is true it would consume an awful lot of resources I would think.

The WMS server I am developing will have a few layers to start and the most important is a JEG2000 Raster Layer. How efficient is this going to be if each client has to have their own WmsLayerPlugin?

Is there any way to load just one set of the Plugin’s so that all clients can make use of the same WmsLayerPlugin ?

Appreciate if you would help make this clear for me.

Dennis

Hi Dennis,

In fact our product work on the server side, the client side is for hows how to use it.

The WMS server focus on handle the map things, it doesn’t contain the authentication logic. So for all clients it run the same plugin logic, if you want to save status for different users, you need to write related logic about it.

You can view our wiki for more detail here, it contains some video also: http://wiki.thinkgeo.com/wiki/map_suite_wms_server_edition

Wish that’s helpful.

Regards,

Ethan

Ethan,

Thanks for your response, but I do realize that your product runs on the server. I’m familiar with the WMS samples as that’s where I started. I went back and looked again at all the code in the projects and gleamed some more useful information.

The WmsLayerPlugin are loaded when the Admin page is started. Is there just this one instantiated set of plugins that are then used by all clients?